Churchie’s rich history and longstanding traditions date back to 1912 when William Perry French Morris founded the School at Toowong, before relocating to the present site in East Brisbane in 1918.
Canon Morris based the School’s ethos on the patron saint, St Magnus, a Viking Earl known for his Viking strength of character and his qualities as an educated man with a Christian nature.
The School crest reflects the character of the Viking tradition – the shield and battle axes stand for Viking courage and the axes are crossed to signify self-sacrifice.
Churchie’s core values of scholastic attainment, personal development, spiritual awareness and community service build on the characteristics and attributes displayed by St Magnus.
The School’s Viking tradition is reflected in many aspects of school life – rowing boats are named after Vikings; architecture represents Viking icons; and the School’s mascot, Eric, a Viking effigy makes regular appearances at sporting events. In early days Canon Morris called on the boys to ‘finish hard’ in all their pursuits and this cry is often called on today.
In Canon Morris’s first address to parents he stated his aim was to ‘train characters as well as minds’. He encouraged boys to take part in physical activity as well as their studies.
Early in 1913 the School’s name was changed to The Cathedral School following a move to new premises at St John’s Cathedral in the city where 33 boys finished the year.
Numbers continued to grow and in 1916 with an enrolment of 106 students and the name changed to Church of England Grammar School, a decision was made to purchase land to build a new school. In 1917 the foundation stone was laid on the site where Churchie stands today.
Since 1912 thousands of young men have been educated at Churchie prior to taking their places as well-rounded men and responsible, contributing members of society represented in all walks of life.