Back to Top

Prof Andrew Griffiths

BA (Hons) (Politics) Griff., PhD (Strategy) UNSW

Professor Andrew Griffiths is the Dean and Head of School at the UQ Business School.
Andrew completed his PhD in 2000 and currently holds the Chair in Business Sustainability and Strategy at The University of Queensland.
Andrew’s areas of research include the management of corporate change, corporate sustainability and the impacts of climate change on organisations. He has published four books: The Sustainable Corporation (1998), Sustainability (2000), Organisational Change for Sustainability (2013) (with Dexter Dunphy and Sue Benn) and The Climate Resilient Organisation (2014) (with Linnenlueke). Prior to joining The University of Queensland, Andrew worked at the Queensland University of Technology and at the Australian Graduate School of Management at the University of New South Wales.
Andrew is an internationally recognised scholar with his works published in The Academy of Management Review and the Journal of Management Studies. Andrew has received a Best Paper Award (2004) and the Carolyn Dexter Best International Paper Award (2008, jointly with his co-authors) from the Academy of Management, the largest professional association of academies in management globally. He also received the UQ Business School Award for Research Excellence (2004) and was the recipient of the UQ Research Foundation Research Excellence Award (2005).
Andrew has worked with a range of organisations in the public and private sectors in the areas of management of strategic change and innovation and corporate sustainability. Andrew has been an Academic-in-Residence of the EPA Sustainable Industries Division and an advisor on Climate Change Strategy to Laing O’Rourke, Blue Care and Aurecon. He has delivered numerous executive education courses to companies in mining, construction and resource industries on these topics.
Andrew currently sits on the board of the State Library Queensland and Queensland Futures Institute and is on the Council of Governors of the American Chamber of Commerce. Andrew is the current Chair of the Premier’s Sustainability Awards.