Back to Top

Water Polo

Water polo began at Churchie in 1996, and in 1997, Churchie entered its first competition with five teams.
Churchie won the 2003 Southern Skies Open Championships and the 2012 Queensland Schools Tournament and was runner-up in the 2004 Tasman Cup Tournament, which featured entries from interstate and New Zealand.

Even though water polo is not a GPS sport, in 2009, 2010 and 2017 the Open Firsts emerged as undefeated premiers in the Independent School Competition.
Churchie students who have represented Australia at various levels include William Armstrong, James Broadley, Tom Culleton, Michael Dance, Tim Dance, Nick Godfrey, Duncan Greenbank, Stewart Greenbank, Zac Hudson, Tyler Sinclair, Tom Woudwyk and Alex Yeates.