Back to Top

Rhodes Scholars

Established in 1903 under the will of Cecil Rhodes, the Rhodes is the oldest and perhaps the most prestigious international graduate scholarship program in the world. A class of 88 Scholars is selected each year from countries around the world to attend Oxford University, selected on the basis of outstanding intellect, character, leadership and commitment to service.

Churchie is proud to recognise 11 Rhodes Scholars who are Churchie Old Boys:
1933  J C Richards
1947  C E Elliot
1949  R F Kynaston
1951  G M Windrum
1952  E F Henzell
1953  A C Copeman
1957  J P Hardy
1961  G F Bond
1966  L W Sturgess
1984  J D McKenna
1990  A J Minson

Clockwise from top left: Charles Elliott, Robert Kynaston, Ted Henzall, A C Copeman, Graham Bond, John McKenna

Find out more about: