Back to Top

2020 leading scholars

Posted on 18 February 2021

Churchie recently welcomed the return of the class of 2020's leading scholars at the School's annual Academic Celebration Assembly held on Thursday 11 February 2021.

Each leading scholar, from both the Queensland Certificate of Education and IB Diploma programme pathways, achieved an Australian Tertiary Admissions Rank (ATAR) score of 98.00 or higher.

Our Dux of the School, with an ATAR of 99.95—the highest result attainable—was Declan Fletcher. Declan was presented with The Tyrwhitt Memorial Cup, which was first awarded to the dux in 1927, and a newly-struck medallion.

Nicholas Dunn was awarded The C E Elliott Rhodes Scholarship Award for Proxime Accessit to the Dux.
Aidan Walsh received The Dr Paul McCarthy Memorial Bursary, endowed by the McCarthy family in memory of their late son, Old Boy Dr Paul McCarthy, awarded to an outstanding student who will pursue a career in science and medicine.

Finally, George Stoddart was awarded the I M Williamson Bursary endowed for an outstanding student who is seeking to study law.

Each scholar has set a fine example for our current students to follow, and we look forward to observing their future achievements.