Back to Top

National chess champions

Posted on 10 December 2021

Churchie has secured its third consecutive national chess title, winning the Secondary Open division of the 2021 Australian Schools Team Chess Championships, following wins in the Primary Open division in 2020 and the Secondary Open division in 2019.

The championship-winning team comprised Sraven Renjith (Year 8) on board one, Michael Ostapenko (Year 12) on board two, Dashiell Young (Year 11) on board three, Nicholas Bond (Year 9) on board four and Ryan Liaw (Year 9) as reserve.

This year's win followed one of the most gruelling and intense sporting competitions we have seen in chess to date, ending in a nail-biting tie-breaker against Scotch College. 

For the first time in 19 years, Churchie has also won all three of our major competitions in a calendar year, including the GPS Premiership, the Queensland State Championships and the Australian Schools Team Chess Championships—a testament to the outstanding Churchie Chess programme.

The School thanks Director of Chess Max Condon, senior coach Alek Wohl and junior coaches Hughston Parle and Henry Slater-Jones for their support of the students in the lead-up to and throughout the weekend.