Back to Top

Senior School

Churchie’s Senior School is a vibrant learning community of approximately 1300 students from Years 7 to 12. The Senior School is focused on the provision of a quality education designed to prepare young men for life and learning beyond school.

Year 7 is a transition year to the senior phase of learning in preparation for the final years of schooling. Years 8, 9 and 10 allow students to explore the broad curriculum in preparation for the final years of schooling. During Years 11 and 12, students are exposed to a wide range of experiences which will help them to graduate as confident young men, equipped with the skills to adapt to the changing requirements of a modern, global society.
The delivery of the Senior School programme is based on Churchie's four tenets: academic excellence, spiritual awareness, personal growth and community service.

A broad range of subject choices is offered to students so they can explore and expand their interests and abilities. Each boy is encouraged to develop, integrate and balance the physical, social, intellectual, emotional, moral, ethical, aesthetic and spiritual dimensions of the Senior School.

Mr Andrew Wheaton, the Deputy Headmaster (Academic) leads the academic programme alongside the Dean of Studies (Years 10 to 12) and Mr Paul Diete, Dean of  Studies (Years 7 to 9).

Dedicated academic staff and students meet in air-conditioned, new generation learning spaces throughout the Senior School. These technology-rich facilities allow for individual learning, small-group work and whole-class collaboration.

Students access specifically designed teaching areas in the Hayward Midson building for the Arts, Design Technology and Engineering, the Stanley and May Smith Science Centre and the Business Studies Centre. 

Senior School Faculties

  • Business
  • Design and Technology 
  • English
  • Health and Physical Education 
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics 
  • Modern Languages 
  • Music
  • Religious Education
  • Science
  • Visual and Performing Arts.


Churchie’s eleven houses are central to its Pastoral Care Programme, which is focused on individualised mentoring. Each student belongs to one house throughout Senior School and this provides him with a sense of group identity and team spirit which is nurtured by competition and friendly rivalry.

Each house has its own colours, emblem, history and precinct:
  • Biggs 
  • Casey 
  • Grenfell 
  • Hillary 
  • Kingsley 
  • Magnus
  • Mansfield
  • Mawson
  • Nansen
  • Gerald (boarding)
  • Goodwin (boarding)

Find out more